so broken

his memory is fading…
becoming vague…
i can hear his last words…
echoing deep…
within the hollow space in my heart…
the unfillable space he left…
an irreplaceable love never to be found…
no closure…
no happy ending…
no time to heal…
left with the god awful feeling…
of wanting…
what can never be had…
a fathers love…
a warm embrace…
from he who gave me life…
no choice…
but to be born into his life of misery…
a life that left me broken…
but still…
i miss my daddy…
his smile…
his big belly…
and his contagious laugh…
what i wouldn’t give…
for one last moment with you…
i miss you daddy…
i’m so broken…
4 Comments to “so broken”

  1. I remember reading this poem a few weeks back and I was moved by it, as I was by your other pieces about your father. Your words reach… just know that.

    • When I write about my father… my words are those of the hurt 14yr old he left behind…and they are reaching… so it’s good to know that they …reach.

