I will never forget

your hands tight around my neck

my eyes wide with fear

looking into yours

and seeing evil

your grip getting stronger

my head swelling

the blood vessels around my eyes

POPPING

me clawing at your hands

wanting so badly to scream

and beg

my mouth open

tiny squeaks escaping

everything is going dim

as i stare into your eyes

trying to speak to you

with my helplessness

your face stern

unaffected

by my silent pleas

for mercy

i cant breathe

i’m panicking

i’m choking

you’re killing me

everything that seemed so big

seems so small now

i’m so weak now

cant see you clearly anymore

cant fight anymore

i’m mouthing “please”

in one last effort

thinking these are the hands

of my protector

we created life together

you’re taking mine

so sad

i had to be rescued

by my  baby girl

sad

that i couldnt swallow

for one week

the bruises were visible

for two

the scars are forever though

i can forgive

i have forgiven

but i will never forget.

7 Comments to “I will never forget”

  1. You and Red….got me crying all over ya’lls blogs tonight–This is heartbreaking boo, sorry anybody would ever have to go through that…as a little girl, I tried to protect my mom from actually several abusive men. It’s scary for everybody involved (except the abuser)…totally feel the “forgive, but never forget”.

  2. Your fear, pain and sadness all captured so vividly, details almost too heatfelt to read, touches me deep to know you experienced such darkness. My mom did too sometimes, it’s something I have to force myself to remember, come to terms with when I catch glimpses. Thank you so much for sharing this.

    • It is my pleasure to share my experiences…
      I am so grateful that such talented eyes grace my page!
      I am sure you were a great source of strength for your mom without even knowing…

