A part of me.

You lean in and whisper
That you can’t live without me
My body aches
Sore from the relentless torture
That is you
The years before you were too short
I sob as I remind myself
I will never know a life without you
You are a part of me now
As much as my curls
And my beauty marks
You smile devilishly as it sinks in
As I get it
You take me in your arms
And every part of me stings
My eyes flood with tears
Unable to control them
They stream unto my cheeks
And I surrender
I embrace you limply
Helpless
Knowing that I have no choice
But to accept you as
A part of me
fibroImage courtesy of  Samantha Kira

What Are the Symptoms of Fibromyalgia?

Symptoms of fibromyalgia include:

  • Chronic muscle pain, muscle spasms or tightness, and leg cramps
  • Moderate or severe fatigue and decreased energy
  • Insomnia or waking up feeling just as tired as when you went to sleep
  • Stiffness upon waking or after staying in one position for too long
  • Difficulty remembering, concentrating, and performing simple mental tasks
  • Abdominal pain, bloating, nausea, and constipation alternating with diarrhea (irritable bowel syndrome)
  • Tension or migraine headaches
  • Jaw and facial tenderness
  • Sensitivity to one or more of the following: odors, noise, bright lights, medications, certain foods, and cold
  • Feeling anxious or depressed
  • Numbness or tingling in the face, arms, hands, legs, or feet
  • Increase in urinary urgency or frequency (irritable bladder)
  • Reduced tolerance for exercise and muscle pain after exercise
  • A feeling of swelling (without actual swelling) in the hands and feet
  • Painful menstrual periods
  • Dizziness

Learn More about Fibromyalgia

9 Responses to “A part of me.”

  1. This grabs you from the beginning and holds you tight all the way through. Thank you V for sharing this and the information!

  2. You created an imagery and visualization that makes the connection seem reluctantly beautiful, and sure enough the depth and pain of this connection becomes apparent later on. What a skillfully crafted poem; I enjoyed this and appreciate you sharing.

  3. Truly brilliant. I hope you don’t mind but I’ve put your Ode to a Deadbeat up on my blog because of how it is such a brilliant piece. I’ve also put a link to this one . It is mind blowing and the comment from knowledge is spot on.

    Well done you.

  4. My wife has had this for 15 years, and disabled with other rare stuff too.
    Believe me, I do understand.

  5. This is a gripping piece, one can tell it’s an important
    yet very painful issue for you!!!
    Thanks for sharing!!!

  6. It’s simply beautiful… thanks for sharing! really…
    I have grabbed it to post it in my blog with a link to your page.
    love your blog!

Trackbacks

