moments.

Thirty-two years ago today is when I took my first breath.  Thirty-two years… Thirty-two years…  As I repeat it to myself,  the enormity of it is clear to me.

16,773,120 minutes.  I rushed through so many of them.  My mind will never recall most of them.  And every sixty seconds, that number grows.   I have wished for so many moments to fly, so that I could be closer to some other time.  Some other occurrence that was more important than the moment that I was in.  Truth is, as each moment passes, what we are closer to the unknown.  This life, this day, this very moment is all we truly have.

I was sitting at my desk yesterday while a woman a block away from me took her last breath.  Hit by a car as she stood waiting for the bus.  That was it.  That moment was her last.  She might have been planning dinner in her head, or thinking about an upcoming vacation.  But sadly, those moments were not in the cards for her.  Those moments will happen without her.

So much of my life is a blur.  Of course the big things stand out in my mind, the special times, unforgettable times…good and bad, but all the moments I spent planning other moments, those took up the most time.

I am truly blessed to have the honor of celebrating another year of LIFE.  I would like to make a commitment to myself to focus on my goals this year…but still appreciating all the precious moments till I get there.  I want to take more photos, and journal more. I want to remember more of the moments that are my life.

Much may be done in those little shreds and patches of time which every day produces, and which most men throw away. ~Charles Caleb Colton

The future is something which everyone reaches at the rate of 60 minutes an hour, whatever he does, whoever he is. ~C. S. Lewis

Time is the coin of your life. It is the only coin you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent. Be careful lest you let other people spend it for you. ~Carl Sandburg

Some of my moments this year…


6 Comments to “moments.”

  1. Superb.

    The photographs are nice too!

  2. Wonderful blog from a wonderful lady! Happy B-day to you sweetie I hope this is the best one so far.

  3. This is the beginning of your new year, n you are indeed truly blessed to have seen it!!!
    btw…HaPpY BiRtHdAy!!!! Enjoy your day hun!!!
    xoxo

  4. 0mg, HAPPY BIRTHDAYYYYY luv!!!!!!! 😀

    Loveeeed da blog && pikz!! ^.^ && ur hair, s0o pretty! :p

    Hope its an awsum 1 for uuuu! 🙂 enjoy it u deserve it! xoxo

  5. Happy birthday, Vanessa! The pictures give this post a special touch and I thank you for sharing with us. Cheers to you.

  6. Great post!! I love the pics too, such a cutie!! I hope your birthday turned out to be a good one and that your coming year is filled with “moments” to treasure. Sendin’ you Birthday love!!

