I LOVE HER, but…

Could I be ready…
To leave…
My beloved…
New York…
Who has left me…
battered and bruised…
And has moved on…
Without a thought…
Without a second glance…
In the capital of the WORLD…
Do I even matter…
No…
I’m just a number…
A box on the census…
A demographic…
To New York…
I am nothing…
To me…
She is everything…
We have…
The ultimate…
Dysfunctional relationship…
Could I be ready…
To leave her…
After all these years…
Sadly…
She wouldn’t even notice…
But oh…
How’d I miss her…
Her music…
Her energy…
Her soul…
She is…
The greatest artist…
Of all time…
Effortlessly beautiful…
But I might be ready…
For someplace…
Not so bitter-sweet…
Someplace…
That loves me back…
But fuck…
How I’d miss her…

11 Responses to “I LOVE HER, but…”

  1. Very Nice ! Leave… u can always visit! Ha.
    Check me out ….

  2. This was raw and powerful. I’ve never been to NY, but your poem gives HER such appeal and now I wish to visit. Enjoy the Poetry Rally.

  3. oh it is always difficult to move to a new place, leaving a city close to us! the thing is, we can always return 🙂

    My Post Is Here

  4. Loved it! Flowed from beginning to end, musical. Glad I stopped by!

  5. There are so many other cities to discover and even lay down your roots. You can always go back!
    (My wife left everything she has ever known back in the UK for love…for me…)
    Thanks for sharing with the Rally.

  6. Love, love, this! Bittersweet. Sigh.

  7. well done sentiments, moving is hard, but it could be an adventure (on my case), I have moved from a country to a new country, from a state to another state, finally settled.

    bless you, welcome to poets rally.

  8. lol I so hate NYC hopefully you are speaking about the suburbs but then again we each have our own place we love. Change is often scary but you can always visit 🙂

    Enjoy the rally!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/on-peace-and-wisdom-haiku-poem-ing-on/

  9. To New York…
    I am nothing…
    To me…
    She is everything…
    We have…
    The ultimate…
    Dysfunctional relationship…

    …wow these lines echo friends of mine who left NY a couple of years ago…honest write…felt.

Trackbacks

